Aah…Romance!

When I first started this journey of writing a novel, I had to pick a genre.  For me, the choice was clear. Romance, of course. Duh. That’s what I read and enjoy.  But I was somewhat surprised with how difficult writing romance can be.  Writing in general is hard, but writing about your characters kissing under a crescent moon or making whoopie under satin sheets can be somewhat embarrassing  if you don’t get it right.  Putting it out there into the readisphere, is literally like you’re doing it on stage for everyone and their dirty old uncle to see. And an exhibitionist I ain’t.

The mechanics of the kiss or bumping booty is relatively easy.  It’s the emotion that is so dang hard to get right without it coming across as cheesy. It’s what your characters are feeling that gets readers all hot and fanning themselves and wishing it was them under those covers.  But, what makes their hearts pound and toes tingle and…yes…yours too, can be bloody difficult.  Painstakingly choosing each word for maximum effect is a thoroughly stressful, but most enjoyable matter.

As of now I’m unpublished and maybe never will be in the traditional sense, but that’s not going to stop me from doing something that I have a new found passion for.  Even if nobody reads it, I’m having the best time writing it.  This writing thing has gotten under my skin,  in a way I never thought possible.  Not in this lifetime anyway.  It’s become my obsession.

You’re yet to meet my characters, Shelley and Gianni as I’m only half way through my manuscript, but I’ll be introducing them and their shenanigans bit by bit to the world soon, like a proud Momma dragging her babies to the playground.  Hopefully you’ll join me on the journey and we can all grow up together.

So tell me, what gets your toes and other bits tingling?

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Aah…Romance!

  1. Hi Ann. I’m writing my first adult romance as well and it is harder than you’d actually think. Getting the kissing, making whoopie and the growing feelings between the characters can be so embarassing. I still remember writing my first ‘beneath the sheets’ scene (it was in a dream) cringing and toe tingling like a school girl. All the while thinking, omg, am I really writing this for someone to read. But those are dangerous thoughts as it might make you want to censure yourself. So kept writing like no one is reading. And as to what gets my toes tingling, it’s the long awaited emotional and physical connection, like a deep kiss (and maybe more) when the couple finally, finally gets together.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to confess that I’m neither a romance writer or reader. But I do appreciate the challenge it must present to portray a romance that will engage readers. I think comedy would be the same way. If you don’t write your humor just the right way, it’ll be disastrous!

    Everyone’s got a different idea of romance and the perfect way to carry it off. I don’t envy you the task. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like Kristen, I neither write or enjoy reading romance… I can definitely imagine how difficult it must be to choose your words, however. Though I think most writers have that issue, whatever their genre… Whether portraying that first kiss, or a joke, or a battle…word choice is so important.

    Like

  4. LOL, “toes and other bits.” So funny! I wrote romance for a while, but it turns out my voice fits with younger books. Although I did enjoy writing romantic comedy. It was VERY popular in the 90s…but faded away, sadly, and now it’s all serious romance…with traditional publishers, anyway. Independent publishers are more open to romantic comedy.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

